Open vision bar

2019 Rogers Explorers Recipients

2019 Rogers Explorers Recipients


The students were selected from a 45 county region and will attend the program in Williamsburg, Columbia, Richmond, Morehead, Wilmore, Pikeville or Barbourville this summer before their ninth-grade year.  All lodging, meals, and the program expenses are free to the students.


The Rogers Explorers program is an intensive three-day, two-night program focused on cultivating skills in leadership, technology, math, science, and community service.  It is developed, coordinated, and supervised by The Center for Rural Development in partnership with University of the Cumberlands, Lindsey Wilson College, Eastern Kentucky University, Morehead State University, Asbury University, University of Pikeville, and The Center’s newest partner, Union College.


Activities throughout the program are both educational and fun with hands-on projects in the classroom.  Explorers are able to actively participate in practical college courses, fine-tune leadership skills, and develop a network of friends and resources throughout our Southern and Eastern Kentucky region.

Back to School News       Print